Reply To: OUT OF THE RUT

Best Gore Forums Chill Out Zone Music OUT OF THE RUT Reply To: OUT OF THE RUT

Death Pod
Participant

Yes, Jojo has a background in jazz drumming and I’m inclined to agree with you about jazz. Fred Armisan’s joke about jazz couldn’t be more on point. Something about any time jazz comes on he immediately thinks “this is jazz.” I’m very particular about the jazz I will listen to and even then I can’t listen to it for too long. Most of it is just not for me. Especially big band jazz. I fucking hate it. When I was a kid the drum instructor at the local music shop recommended the “Burning for Buddy” albums to me so I went out and bought them. Excellent musicians? Yes. Interesting, listenable songs? No. I hate most of the horn arrangements in jazz. All of that wankery just sounds annoying. Not to mention the repetitive nature of jazz drumming. Which is ironic considering jazz is supposed to break the mold. The ride cymbal patterns all sound the same to me, for instance. I gave it a shot but life is too short to waste time doing stuff you don’t enjoy.

That Skynd video was cool. It reminded me of the first time I watched Silence of the Lambs. I was tripping on acid and on the edge of my seat the entire movie. That video gave me a similar creepy vibe and the song is not bad either. I loved the direction of the video. Panning out of the view finder on the camera, etc. Jonathan Davis appears to be heading toward Devin Townsend’s “Skullet” look.